Why I’m watching Super Tuesday

bahil1.jpg

For the past few weeks, I’ve been addicted to watching CNN.  I’ve been paying close attention to the Democratic presidential race between Senator Barack Obama of Illinois and Senator Hillary Clinton of New York.

You don’t have to be a political junkie to understand what is going on in the United States.  Many people who are very apathetic towards politics in general – enjoy what’s transpiring in the U.S.  Nevertheless, I find I’m having a higher interest in this race because I have an honours degree in Political Science.  Nonetheless, I’ll be the first to admit that my once vast knowledge of American politics has been tested in the last few weeks.  I’m almost attempted to crack open my, Introduction to Politics text book to brush up on my understanding of the American political system.  Whatever the case – the race going on in America – is a treat to watch. 

For the first time a white woman and an African-American man have a legitimate shot at being the president of the United States of America.  If you take a step back and really think about it – it’s pretty powerful stuff.  Who’d thought America in her ignorance would be ready for either candidate?  I mean both individuals have been criticized for various reasons along the election trail. For example, Clinton has been pegged as the emotional candidate during her town hall style campaign stops whereas Obama has been referred to an idealist who is too young to lead and very inexperienced.  Regardless of these perceived characteristics – this race has been exciting to watch.  It serves almost as the perfect case study for speeches, key messages, media plans and the ability for each candidate to know and accurately define their audience(s).

As I eagerly await the results for Super Tuesday, I lament at the idea of our own politics in Canada.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have such an extravagant election race in Canada?  Well at the present time, this will and can not happen.  The U.S. has a different electoral system than ours.  For instance, we don’t elect the Prime Minister directly and campaigns are financed with less money.   Despite this fact, I won’t forego our current system in Canada.  Nevertheless, I can’t help myself for secretly wanting to vote in this fascinating Democratic race towards the White House

~ by Natasha C. on February 5, 2008.

5 Responses to “Why I’m watching Super Tuesday”

  1. Message from America: We are way past ready for an African American or woman president. Turn out in the Democratic race proves that.

    Stayed tuned…

  2. It will be interesting to see and hear how this whole race will play out. It’s an exciting time in American politics.

  3. I have not been watching that closely, but what I have heard and watched this election in the U.S. is a very close one. Young people, women and African-Americans are paying more attention because of the addition of a woman and and African-American man running for president. It’s an historic time. I wonder who will win? As for Politics in Canada, I find out system is very boring. We elect MPP’s for our areas, but don’t get to elect the Prime Minister directly. There seems to be less excitement in Canadian politics and many things Canadian in general. What’s up with that?

  4. Ever since I heard Obama speak at the 2004 Democratic convention, I’ve been hooked with seeing him open up the consciousness of America. I’m sick and tired of hearing bull like ‘is he black enough?’ and thinking that only black people will vote for him simply because he’s black. He’s amazing to watch and he has the distinguished voice of an orator. His endorsement from JFK’s daughter, Caroline, was great because JFK was also young and that did not diminish his abilities to lead a country. In fact, it was probably this fact that made him relate to younger people and see the issues that they faced instead of looking at it from an outsider’s perspective. Finally, in the 21st century it looks like change may not only be a word.

  5. I have been glued to CNN since this race began. I find Obama to be an amazing speaker and I think his ideas are ideal for the US. I heard where Wolf Blitzer said their viewing audience increased 4X due to this race.

Leave a Reply

 
