Q & A with Hip Hop Abs creator Shaun T

Shaun T, Hip Hop Abs creator

Shaun T, Hip Hop Abs creator

Shaun T’s love of dance and sports science at New Jersey’s Rowan University helped him to create Hip Hop Abs, a fun and motivational workout.  Shaun, who has been involved in athletics since he was six years old, gives fans his advice on fitness and healthy living.

 

Natasha C:  Many of our readers are curious about this one.  Before Hip Hop Abs, what were you doing for a living?
Shaun T: Before creating Hip Hop Abs (HHA) I was working for a pharmaceutical company in Collegeville, Pennsylvania.  I graduated college with a degree in sports science from Rowan University.  During a visit in Los Angeles I auditioned for a professional dance agency just for fun.  Well to my surprise they actually chose me to be a part of their agency.  This aided me to move to LA in 2003. From there the inspiration began!  I decided on the concept of HHA when I was in college because that’s when I struggled with my weight issue. I started dancing and with most dancers their main focus is their weight.  I needed to do something about my extra 50lbs! And so I developed tilt, tuck and tighten.

 

NC: You’ve created the most celebrated exercise program since Tae Bo, what made you develop this program?
ST:  I developed HHA because after high school, I went to college and stopped doing sports and gained 50lbs. I needed to do something.  I started dancing and during every show there was always the request for guys to have their shirts off.  I needed to do something about my belly so I decided to always contract my abs. After receiving my bachelors in sports science, I was able to scientifically prove that tilt, tuck and tighten works.

 

NC: What’s so revolutionary about Hip Hop Abs? 
ST: It’s so much better to not have to use gravity to increase your workout. With sit ups you have to lie on the floor and strain your lower back and neck.  But with absolute ab engagement you are creating the firing of the muscles all on your own.  That puts you in control and while you’re dancing.

NC:  In order to keep your body in such excellent shape, you must have a strict diet.  How many times of day do you eat and what are your favourite foods?
ST: First I would like to stress that my lifestyle is as follows: if I am trying to lose weight I burn more calories than I put in my body!  It’s really that simple!  If I wanna maintain my weight I balance my exercise with my portions and it’s much easier than you think if you just listen to your body.

 

Actually my “eating lifestyle” isn’t as strict as much as it is smart!  I just eat really smart to maintain the results. My calorie intake consists of high amounts of fish and other proteins like chicken and sometimes a good ol’ low fat piece of steak.  I, unlike a lot of other heath professionals don’t eat 5 or 6 meals a day because “my” body isn’t made for that type of intake. I have the type of body that packs on the pounds extremely easily. So if you wanna know my absolute honest regiment, here it is:

– Breakfast around 9 a.m.; granola cereal or egg whites, spinach, and wheat toast with the occasional cream cheese. I stress occasional!

– Lunch around 1:30 p.m. or 2 p. m.; sushi and or Japanese food.  And sometimes two small size turkey sandwiches with wheat bread.  And yes I will enjoy a small amount of baked Lays potato chips to satisfy that urge!

– Dinner is between 7:30 p.m. and 9 p.m.; most of the time I have some sort of fish with salad.  Balsamic vinaigrette mostly but I also have that amazing low fat ranch dressing in the fridge!  And if I am still hungry after that I will have some cashews and or sugar free sorbet! Ahhhhh I love it!

NC: Working out and eating properly go hand in hand.  Nevertheless, many people struggle to do both or one of the other.  How do you stay motivated to keep in shape when you may have days of eating poorly or not working out as hard as you originally planned?
ST: There are so many times when I am travelling where I don’t eat as healthy as I would like and I get really stressed out!  I used to give up and continue to eat poorly and just start over the next day, but no more!  I call it an “enjoyment day” and I know I have to do a quick workout, no matter how short. Look people, it’s as simple as, you make the choice to enjoy the foods you like, make the choice to burn the calories. You have to make the choice.

 

NC: If someone wants to change their unhealthy lifestyle into a healthy lifestyle, how do you suggest they should go about doing it?
ST: The easiest way to change your lifestyle is not to go on a “diet” or say, “I will start my new workout on Monday.”  That Monday turns into a month of Monday’s!  If you want to start a workout program, the minute you decide to commit, do 20 jumping jacks or drop down and do 10 push-ups.  When I was overweight, I would workout for 10 minutes a day for two weeks and worked my way up.  In a lifestyle change toward healthy living there is no rush – just a better mind. That will take you further than any diet.

NC:  What are your top five tips for creating sleek sexy abs?
ST: Cardio with me!  Create a great eating lifestyle.  Make a firm commitment to training your abs 4 times a week for 10 to 20 minutes.  Remember to invite the pain of working out and don’t be afraid.  No pain no gain!  Lastly, relax and give your body time to develop.

 

*Excerpts of this article were originally published in SWAY Magazine.

 

 

 

 

 

~ by Natasha C. on August 20, 2008.

15 Responses to “Q & A with Hip Hop Abs creator Shaun T”

  1. […] post by Natasha C. Explore posts in the same categories: […]

  2. […] post by Natasha C. Explore posts in the same categories: Music […]

  3. Our hip hop bling rings are made from the same molds as real platinum rings. Workout

  4. Great interview piece Tash! Gave insight on exercise and eating well. Interesting on how Shaun T ‘listens to his body’ and doesn’t beat up himself for his days of indulging he just tries his best and gets back on track. I hope to get better at what’s good for me one step at a time.

  5. Many thanks! I’ve learned a lot from Shaun and I’m glad I can share this information with everyone!!!

  6. Nice bog you have here. I pretty much lurk the internet when I’m bored and read all I can about the organic lifestyle, but I really liked you view on things. I’ll bookmark the site and subscribe to the feed!

  7. Hey There.” Shaun T, I just started working out on 9/2/08 so far I can feel a little change in me but not a big change, well not yet ! I excerise six times a week three times a day. but also so I’m in college it’s really hard for me because my major is Culinary Arts lol ! and being around all that great food how can you not try it ?? But I will tell you how things are going for me in five months wich will be 1/2/09 i’ll keep you informed about me haha 🙂 I have gotta tell you this I do love me some Hip Hop ABS know what I mean.

    I would love for you to keep intouch with me if you need my email address i’ll be glade to give it to you. I feel that Hip Hop ABS is goint to be a success for me.

  8. Hey,
    I’m glad Hip Hop Abs is working for you. However, just to let you know, I’m not Shaun T – I’m just someone who interviewed him 🙂 Nevertheless, I wish you luck on all of your fitness pursuits!

    Health and fitness is important so don’t give up. Especially when you feel like you want to give up. I speak from experience 🙂

  9. Thanks Acai Plus for the feedback. It is appreciated!!! 🙂

  10. Hi Shaun T,i really enjoy your total body workout dvd.I’ve struggled to keep myself in shape.my focus is my belly hips and thighs. my measurements are 38dd 36 44. my goal is to firm up my butt and thighs and to turn my belly into a six pac. can i do this with your total body workout without losing my thighs and butt. i would like for my butt and thighs to stay big but i want them to be firm.hope to hear from you thanks!

  11. Ok Shaun I am a beginner I did try the hip hop work out dvd, but i really did not see any results… but, I came across a video of one of your clients and she talked about the Detox Cleanse and Shakeology.. Where would I fine that product living in Georgia. Also I really am trying to be fit but its seems as though whatever im doing, maybe I could possibly not workout correctly.

  12. Hi Shaun T, my sister in law do your workout the 10 dvd’s we love it but we do it 4x a week since we cannot do it every day but we follow the schedule of the workout is it still ok ? we feel amazing and starting to see results what do you think? what’s
    another drink that could replace recovery drink?

  13. Hi
    Shaun.
    Thanks for creating hip hop abs. I bought your program a couple years ago, and I went hardcore on it for one week, and I lost 3 lbs in 1 week! Sadly, I never stuck with it. I gained more weight, so I have been googling HHA, and looking for good advice to help get me started on a healthy life style doing HHA as well. This really does work and I am thankful there is one program that is fun and easy to do. Thanks again, and wish me luck 😛

  14. my age is 16 .. and i want to learn hiphop but fail to do many steps….i think that thiis is due to my weak hand muscls and lack of abs… i dont have that strength in my hands to last a handstand.. also i have only focused on acadmics and didnt go through exercise for a long time. i am not fat … my height is 5’11 n my weight is 66 kg ……….. is it advicable for me to go through this workout programme of hiphop abs… tell me what do u feel that i should do ?

  15. Hello, I am tracking the number of calories burned and I just started back doing Hip Hop Abs. How many are burned doing Hips Buns & Thighs

Leave a Reply

 
