Petro Canada has NO respect for customers

It’s been a long time however I’m back….

Let me tell you about a real story that happened to me involving Petro Canada. After my experience I will NEVER go to another Petro Canada gas station again. And this is really unfortunate as there’s a Petro Canada literally 2 minutes from my house and a 15 minute walk from my work place. I would rather have my car stall on the road so I can call CAA than go to Petro Canada for gas. Or better yet drive five to 10 minutes to Esso to fill up my car because Esso respects and appreciates their customers.

So last Friday I went to Petro Canada to buy $250 worth of gas cards for a contest my employer was running. The Petro Canada gas station is located at 55 Spadina Avenue, Toronto, Ontario which is a 15 minute walk from my work place. It’s not far when you are in optimal health however my circumstances of my health has changed (one I will not disclose here), but if you come to my place to work – you will know what I’m talking about

Petro Canada has no respect for customers!

Petro Canada sucks!

Anyways, I went to the gas station and picked up two $100 gift cards and one $50 gift card. I went to the attendant and gave him the gas cards to purchase – the attendant probably was a complete idiot. He asked me for my driver’s licence and said he had to see it because my purchase is more than $100 on my Capital One Platnium chip credit card. So in my mind – I was thinking – this is really stupid, but I provided my licence. Then the idiot attendant told me he had to call my bank to verify the purchase. Are you serious? After seeing my government issued licence – that should be the end of it. But no it wasn’t. So I then asked the illiterate attendant – “how long would this take?” And he said, 20 minutes. At this time – I took my driver’s licence and credit card away from him. I told the attendant – I have to get back to work and I don’t have time to wait 20 minutes on company time for a routine transaction.

So I left I was disgusted at the level of customer service and immediately filed a complaint with head office at Petro Canada. I didn’t hear from Petro Canada until Monday October 24 at 1:52 p.m. This is odd as their social media advisor – Julie Siabanis had the time to look me up on LinkedIn on Friday October 21, but it took them until Monday afternoon to provide a half ass response to my complaint. Their response is as follows:

Good afternoon xxxx,

Thank you for contacting Petro-Canada Customer Service online.

We sincerely apologize for the poor experience you have had at the Petro-Canada site located at 55 Spadina Avenue in Toronto, ON.

At Petro-Canada we take great pride in providing high quality products and services to our customers.

The way that our retail business is structured, independent associate retailers operate most of our service stations. As such, our associates have full responsibility and accountability for the operation of the sites which they manage.

This matter has been brought to the attention of the retailer for his review.

Please note that Superior customer service and customer security are among our top priorities. We work hard to ensure that our independent retailers and their staff know how to make customers feel welcome, important and respected.

For security reasons we are unable to share our security/fraud prevention measures. However, we can advise you that it is appropriate to ask for proof of identity in certain circumstances. Having said that, under no circumstances is private information to be written down or recorded.

In order to investigate this matter further please provide the date and time of your visit to the site.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for your business.

Best regards,

Suncor Energy Products Partnership
Customer Relations
Phone ~ 1-800-668-0220
Fax ~ 1-800-837-1228
Email ~ custsvs@suncor.com

I was really disappointed with their response, and my anger was not because the attendant asked for my licence – it’s the fact, he’s like – I have to call your bank to verify my purchase. I mean, why ask for my licence, if you weren’t going to process my transaction in the first place?

And I responded to Petro Canada’s half-hearted customer service response and I haven’t heard from them ever since. Way to go Petro Canada. Clearly you don’t know how to put customer service above everything else! So guess what? I’ve told everyone I know about Petro Canada and I’m telling others – until the message is out there.

Esso - a gas station you can trust!

Esso - has AMAZING customer service!

By the way, not all gas stations are like this. I went to Esso to purchase $250 worth of gas cards and the attendant was so pleasant and easy to deal with. She took my credit card, processed the transaction and never asked me for my driver’s licence. Way to go Esso! Thanks for putting the customer first.

~ by Natasha C. on October 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
